NAKAMA After Hours: Greg Goorwitch

StickmenStage

Get to know what our consultants are up to when they’re not busy recruiting!

Nakama London – Greg Goorwitch – Manager – Digital Marketing, Analytics & Performance 

Greg, what do you get up to when you aren’t busy recruiting for Digital Marketing?

I write music and play in a band called Stickman Cartel. I also make electronic music and I’m working on improving my music production/producer CV. 

When did you start playing the keyboard and what was your first live performance?

I started playing the piano at age four. Anyone that heard me play back then would describe me as “playing the piano like a 4 year old”. 

My first live performance was at school, at age five where I played my grade 1 “stuff”. It was quite Avant-garde. I wore a black polo neck and sunglasses. By six I was playing the blues piano channeling all of the frustrations of a six year old, you know, eat food you don’t want to eat and going to bed at a certain time, so unfair, but that’s the blues I suppose. By seven, I was going through my Velvet Underground inspired phase. It lasted six months and was a difficult time for my parents. I now play the Synth/keyboard, which is easier than the piano. I have recently been described as “playing the keyboard like a 4 year old”.

Who would you say your music is inspired by?

Stickman Cartel make music influenced by Deep House, Disco and a sprinkle of Trance but played by humans with instruments. We generally layer everything on stage to recreate a dance music production but still have the organic sound of an indie band.  Bloc Party, Foals and Friendly Fires have been major reference points.

 When did you form the band and how long have you all been playing together?

I have been in bands since 18. We formed Stickman Cartel in 2009 and are still together. We play at a rate of about one gig a month.

As a band what would you say is your biggest achievement yet?

We have played Glastonbury twice.  Last year we played the Rabbit Hole at Glastonbury – we had an 8pm slot and then we were asked to come back and do another set at 2am. Definitely two different crowds – the 2am crowd were better!

You’ve performed in a lot of venues around London, any funny/interesting stories you can share?

We once played to an empty room supporting a band with a bearded lady. The bearded lady had a costume change half way through the set. I felt that it amplified the emptiness of the room. I feel you need at least 1000 people to justify a costume change during a set.

We once did a gig at The Social in Little Titchfield Street – where the stage was so small I had to sit with my synth at a dinner booth that was just on the side of the stage.  I ordered some fries during the set. 

It sounds like the sky’s the limit! Where do you want the band to be five years from now – what’s next for the Stickmen?

Not overly ambitious – XMAS No 1, Break America and move up to the Pyramid Stage (ideally the Sunday Legend slot – like Dolly or Lionel). On a personal note I would also like to play the piano like a 5 year old.

Where can we listen to your music?

Internet etc………………. BUY IT NOW!

Our Facebook is probably the best place to find out more https://www.facebook.com/stickmancartel 

Google Play

Amazon

iTunes

 Spotify

If you’d like to get in touch with Greg at Nakama London about a Digital Marketing role email ggoorwitch@nakamalondon.com or phone P: 0203 588 4562

 

One thought on “NAKAMA After Hours: Greg Goorwitch

  1. Pingback: Nakama Afterhours: Natasha Eyles – Business Support at Nakama London | Nakama Global Blog

Leave a Reply

